Posted by: Christine Donovan | May 20, 2009

Customer Service: It’s All About Attitude

Last post, I talked about the importance of defining customer service for your business.  I mentioned that it needs to begin with attitude…an attitude of service.

But, you can’t just get a good attitude in new employee orientation or on-the-job training.  You won’t get it by reading a book or listening to a motivational speaker (well, for long anyway).  Either you enjoy meeting and assisting people or you don’t.

It starts at home, at school, at church – attitude is in your heart, and it’s difficult to fake.  A person’s true character eventually reveals itself in his/her attitude – especially under stress, boredom, or the daily routines of life.

Did you ever have a sales clerk give you a feigned smirk as a substitute for a smile?  Or a phone rep use that condescending tone that isn’t openly rude, but lets you know how stupid he thinks you are?

I think they were like that the day they were hired.  It’s nearly impossible to change a generally negative attitude, although on rare occasion I’ve seen it happen, usually because of an incredibly inspirational boss or strong company culture.

Here’s one of my favorite quotes about attitude, written by the Reverend Charles Swindoll:

A T T I T U D E

The longer I live,
The more I realize the impact of attitude on life.

Attitude, to me, is more important than facts.

It is more important than the past, than education,
than money, than circumstances, than failures, than successes,
than what other people say or do.

It is more important than appearances, giftedness, or skill.

It will make or break a company …a church …. a home.

We cannot change the past…we cannot change the way people will act.

We cannot change the inevitable.

The only thing we can change is how we will react, our attitude.

I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me
and 90% how I react to it.

I am in charge of the one thing I have….
my A T T I T U D E.

So, hire people with the right attitude from Day 1. 

More tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

Categories

