Posted by: Christine Donovan | May 5, 2009

Sailing as a metaphor for life

Racing Crew

Racing Crew

I’m a “sailor.”  Not in the merchant marine or Navy sense of course, but in my heart.

Spent about 10 years as a crew member racing sailboats in TX and CA before a shoulder injury ended my amateur career (Career in the most generous sense of the word.)

While crewing, I learned a lot about reaching for excellence, about human nature, competition, teamwork, friendship, attitude… and a myriad of other important life lessons.  I learned some ugly things too; and those sometimes offer the most valuable lessons of all. 

I wish everyone could have the opportunity to race on a sailboat.  We don’t know who we really are or what we’re made of until we’re pushed to the edge of our physical and mental capacity. 

I felt blessed every minute I was out there.  Such a privilege.

So I’m sure I will use sailing as an analogy for life lessons as I launch this newer, better blog.

For the truth is that I already know as much about my fate as I need to know. The day will come when I will die. So the only matter of consequence before me is what I will do with my allotted time. I can remain on shore, paralyzed with fear, or I can raise my sails and dip and soar in the breeze.

Richard Bode, First You Have to Row a Little Boat

Happy sailing…

Leave a Reply

Categories

